My Expectations and Predictions for E3 2012

Last year, I wrote multiple articles before and during E3, but my expectations for E3 2012 are much lower. My expectations for Sony and Microsoft are especially low. At the very least, I am looking forward to hearing more about Nintendo’s WiiU, but I’m unsure if I will like what I hear. Nevertheless, I am interested in hearing more about some video games that have already been announced, and I also have a couple of predictions (though I do not think they are anything groundbreaking).

Sony is dead to me?

I really do not know what to think about Sony and the Playstation brand at this point. I have not been genuinely interested in anything Sony has done in a very long time. The Playstation Portable held my attention for a time, but it is now collecting dust. I have never felt compelled to buy a Playstation 3, despite some of the well-received exclusive series like Infamous and Uncharted, and I have never considered buying a Playstation Vita for even a second. Simply put, it is going to take a very exciting announcement for me to give Sony a serious look. I do not expect that to happen prior to the announcement of the Playstation 4.

However, there are two Sony-exclusive games that I am keeping an eye on. The first game, The Last Guardian, has been on my radar for a few years now, but Sony continues to say very little about the game. While I may never own the game, I enjoyed the two previous games in the “Ico series” and I expect The Last Guardian to finally be released this year.

The second game was just recently announced: Playstation All-Stars Battle Royale. While I intially dismissed Playstation All-Stars as a knock-off of Nintendo’s Super Smash Bros. series, after reading further it became clear that there are key differences between the two games. Even so, we were only given a brief look at Playstation All-Stars and I am interested in finding out more at Sony’s E3 press conference.

Microsoft needs more games.

My view of Microsoft and the XBOX brand are the exact opposite of Sony. I love my XBOX 360, but unfortunately it doesn’t see much use because there is simply nothing to play. To be more specific, there is a serious lack of both variety and exclusives. I have tried to find games to play over the last year, but the vast majority of the available titles are cross-platform and first-person shooters. I have nothing against cross-platform games, but I have absolutely no interest in first-person shooters.

The cross-platform first-person shooters are usually released for the Playstation 3 as well, but what helps Sony stand out is their exclusives. Microsoft needs to provide more exclusives for their platform (preferably exclusives that do not require Kinect). I would love to see a new Fable that is not Fable: The Journey. I would love to see a new Banjo & Kazooie. I would love to see a new IP.

What I do not want to see (and I will be disappointed) is more information about the media features of my XBOX 360. I think it’s great that the console has media features, but at E3 I want to hear about games – not how my XBOX now has Internet Explorer built in (and I guarantee they will be talking about that exact feature).

I have no idea what to expect from Nintendo.

Everyone knows that Nintendo will be talking about the WiiU at their press conference, but no one has a clue what that actually includes. I’m looking forward to finally seeing Pikmin 3, but I don’t know what else to expect. Last year, Nintendo’s press conference made it sound like Nintendo is going to focus on traditional games more than experimental games geared towards new players, but I want to see proof. The video demonstration of the WiiU was full of simple motion-based mini-games, and I don’t want to see any of those concepts as a part of a real game. If Nintendo is serious about catering towards experienced gamers then I want to see a variety of games that prove it. A new Metroid game that corrects the problems Metroid: Other M introduced would be a nice start.

Of course, the Nintendo 3DS will also get time on stage and on the show floor. I’m not expecting many new announcements for the Nintendo 3DS, but I do expect to see more information about upcoming games. Specifically, we will hear more about Animal Crossing, Paper Mario, and Luigi’s Mansion 2. I do expect Nintendo to announce a new Legend of Zelda game for the Nintendo 3DS.

My E3 2012 Predictions

  1. Sony will announce Killzone 4 and Infamous 3.
  2. There will be several Playstation 3 games ported to Playstation Vita.
  3. Microsoft will announce new games from Rare and Lionhead.
  4. Microsoft will focus primarily on media features instead of games.
  5. A new Legend of Zelda will be announced for the Nintendo 3DS. It will not be released in 2012.
  6. The new Super Smash Bros. games for WiiU and Nintendo 3DS will be a no show.
  7. Nintendo will announce a new WiiU game developed by Retro Studios.
3 thoughts on “My Expectations and Predictions for E3 2012

  1. I am beginning to wonder if Last Guardian is actually going to happen. That’s really the only thing I care about from Sony right now. Nintendo has the most potential to excite/disappoint this year. If they announce real games, I’ll be happy. If they show a bunch of touch screen tech demos I’ll be disappointed.

    • Sony insists that The Last Guardian will be finished despite Fumito Ueda leaving (apparently he’s being paid as a freelancer to finish the game). I really hope it is finished because it looks great. This looks to be the last “Ico game” (though I’m sure whatever Ueda makes next will be considered a spiritual successor to the series), so it would be a shame if the game was never released.

      • That’s good to hear. I got the Shadows/Ico remake on PS3, both are fantastic, so I am really looking forward to Last Guardian. I am looking forward to Luigi’s Mansion 2, and Pikmin 3 (I’m going to have to dig out and replay 1 & 2), and I am somewhat intrigued by PS:All Stars – maybe it could tie me over until the next Smash. I would love to hear about the Zelda 3DS that has been hinted at, that would be a pleasant surprise.

Leave a Reply

