The Games I’ll be Playing in 2012

Now that I have finished playing through The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword, I have begun asking myself what game(s) I should play next. The year is almost over, and I’ve started looking at what new games are coming out next year as well as older games that I haven’t had a chance to play yet.

Oddly enough, I’ve found that there really aren’t many new games that I’m looking forward to playing next year. Part of the problem stems from the lack of high-profile upcoming Nintendo Wii games (due to the upcoming release of the Wii U), but as I’ve gotten older I’ve found it more difficult to find video games that sound appealing to me.

Regardless, I’ve found a handful of games I’m looking forward to. I’ve also decided on some older games that I’d like to finally get around to playing.

Bastion

Bastion is absolutely beautiful.

Bastion was actually released just a few months ago in July 2011, but I have only just discovered the game in the past week after the announcement that the game could be played in the Google Chrome web browser. I took some time to play the demo available on the XBOX Marketplace, and I found the game very enjoyable.

Bastion is a beautiful (seriously, the game looks amazing) action RPG with a narrator who tells the story as you play the game (and reacts to what you actually do). The gameplay in the Bastion demo is nothing new, but it’s a lot of fun. Better yet, Bastion has a catchy soundtrack that is quickly becoming one of my favorites (and I haven’t even played the full game yet!).

I’m planning to purchase and play through Bastion very soon. I might not even be able to wait until 2012 actually starts.

Soul Calibur V

I was very pleased when Soul Calibur V was announced at E3 2011, but I was even more surprised when I learned that the game would be released in January 2012! So far, the changes to the battle system sound intriguing and the new characters look great! However, I am hoping that more of the older character return. Some of my favorite characters that have appeared in all the past Soul Calibur games have not been announced for the latest game. Kilik and Taki, who are among the missing characters, have been replaced with new characters that have similar move sets, but I’d really like to see the original characters to be available to play as well.

The past few years have been great for fighting games, and it looks like Soul Calibur V is going to be the highlight of early 2012 for the genre.

Xenoblade Chronicles

The wait is almost over.

I cannot begin to tell you how excited I am that Xenoblade Chronicles is being released in North America. Xenoblade has received overwhelmingly positive reviews from both gamers and critics, and I’m glad I don’t have to jump through hoops to experience the game for myself.

Under normal circumstances, I probably would not be nearly as excited for a JRPG as I am for Xenoblade, but this is a case where I have been completely convinced by the reviewers (and some of my friends who imported the game) that Xenoblade is worth playing.

World of Warcraft: Mists of Pandaria

My World of Warcraft playing-habits have changed significantly over the past couple of years, but I reactivate my account every few months to play the game for a couple of weeks. Specifically, I have a tendency to return to the game after major content patches and expansions are released. Mists of Pandaria is the next World of Warcarft expansion, and I expect it to be released sometime in the second half of 2012.

While I do enjoy playing World of Warcraft, my primary interest is the Warcraft story. So, I am very excited about the opportunity to finally learn about Pandaria and the Pandaren once Mists of Pandaria is released.

Kid Icarus: Uprising

I hope that I can play Kid Icarus: Uprising next year, but I’ll have to get a Nintendo 3DS first. I didn’t have the opportunity to play Kid Icarus or Kid Icarus: Myths and Monsters until just the past few years, but I’ve been hoping that the series would return for far longer than that.

Corny quotes aside, Kid Icarus: Uprising looks like a great comeback for Pit, and I hope it’s just the first of many games to come! Uprising is not what I envisioned a new Kid Icarus game would be, but I’m pleased with the gameplay style that was chosen.

However, I could do without Dark Pit. Could we please come up with a villain that isn’t the hero wearing black clothes?

Ys Seven

I consider it very unfortunate that the Ys series has never found a large fan base in North America. The Ys games are among my favorites, but I haven’t played the latest game in the series that was released in 2010.

Ys Seven is an action RPG that was released exclusively on the PSP. It actually looks considerably different from the other games in the Ys series because they have added a party of playable characters (as opposed to only the main character, Adol, being playable). However, the other playable characters could be a great addition considering that some fans found the gameplay in previous titles to be somewhat repetitive (due to there being one playable character with a limited move set).

StarTropics

StarTropics is an NES game that was released in 1990. I purchased a copy of the game in late 2009 or at some point in 2010, but I have yet to play it. 2012 is going to be the year that changes. Better yet, I hope to make StarTropics one of the first games I play in 2012. It’s been a long time since I played a new NES game, and I’m ready to get the NES set up again.

I’ve read great things about StarTropics from various sources, but I’ve also read plenty of negative comments from gamers who don’t view the game so highly. While I agree that some of the design choices are odd, I don’t expect to dislike the game.

Furthermore, I think the StarTropics series is long overdue for a comeback. I hope Nintendo regularly considers reviving dormant series like StarTropics. I’m a big fan of new series, but it’s also great to see the old series return.

One thought on “The Games I’ll be Playing in 2012

  1. Pingback: Bastion Review « Video Game Insight

Leave a Reply

