Review: Torchlight

I have a very complicated view on PC gaming. There are tons of games I would love to play, but there is one thing (other than not owning a powerful gaming computer) that turns me away: keyboard and mouse controls. Specifically, I’m not a fan of games that are best played by continuously clicking the mouse.

Most recently, I tried to play League of Legends. I love the game’s concept and had some fun playing with friends, but the controls (right-clicking repeatedly to move) are a major downside for me. I had a similar experience years ago with the beloved dungeon-crawler Diablo 2.

The Diablo series is exactly the type of game I would normally enjoy, but I would rather play a game with a analog stick and buttons. Luckily for me, I stumbled on to Torchlight.

Diablo With A Controller

Torchlight was originally released for the PC. While I have not played the original game, I imagine that it plays similarly to Diablo and other PC games I have not enjoyed as much as I could have. Unlike Diablo, Torchlight was later ported to the XBOX 360 and released as a downloadable game. The port was completely rebuilt to use a simplified interface for the XBOX 360 controller. The results make me wish more PC developers would follow Torchlight’s lead.

Simply put, the new interface couldn’t be any better. I’d like to see more PC games ported to consoles in this way. The result feels more like playing The Legend of Zelda than playing a PC dungeon crawler.

Unlimited Replayability

Torchlight’s replayability isn’t something new; it’s taken directly from Diablo. However, since my past with Diablo hasn’t been the greatest, this is the first time I’ve truly experienced the unlimited replayability of a dungeon-crawler with randomly generated dungeons.

My first experiences with the feature is overwhelmingly positive. In any other game, I would have completed the main quest almost immediately, but I have not yet completed the Torchlight main quest because I have spent a significant amount of time running through additional dungeons created through in-game items. The inclusion of multiple classes and talent charts increases the replayability even further.

The Only Thing Missing

I’m not sure why the creators of Diablo would create a game so similar to Diablo and then choose to not include multiplayer. I’m glad to hear that a sequel is in the works that includes it, but the first game could have really benefited from its inclusion.

Aside from the lack of multiplayer, I can find nothing negative to say about Torchlight. It’s an extremely fun and addicting game, the controls work masterfully, and the music is fantastic. The game doesn’t introduce anything new to the genre, but the developers refined the “Diablo formula” to create a fantastic game.

Recommended

One thought on “Review: Torchlight

  1. Pingback: Revitalizing Nintendo’s Virtual Console | Video Game Insight

Leave a Reply

