E3 2011: What I Want From Microsoft

E3 is just a couple of weeks away, so it’s time to start thinking about what to expect. Rumors are already flying and everyone is making predictions. Now, it’s my turn. Rather than making predictions based on rumors from questionable sources, I’m going to detail what I want to see at E3 this year. I may venture into the “this will probably never happen, but I want it” zone a bit, but this year there is plenty to be excited about without making wild guesses.

Last time, I told you want I wanted (and expected) from Sony. Now, it’s Microsoft’s turn. Microsoft has been pretty quiet this year and as far as we know is the only console manufacturer without a major platform announcement this year. That leaves plenty of room for surprises, but also means I don’t have much to look forward to.  So, this post will have some more far-fetched ideas.

Fable 4

Peter Molyneux has to be working on something. I think a new Fable is good guess. Despite the negative reactions from other gamers and some of the big gaming sites, I thoroughly enjoyed both Fable 2 and Fable 3. If another Fable game is announced, it will quickly become one of my most wanted games. That’s not to say there weren’t problems with the past Fable games, but hopefully the developers at Lionhead can learn from their mistakes and produce a better game.

However, I’d prefer if Peter Molyneux could do it without making ridiculous promises.

Less Focus on Kinect

Microsoft had a special Kinect event last year. This year, I hope it plays a much smaller role at E3.

Like Sony, I’d prefer to see less focus on Kinect and more on traditional gaming. Unfortunately, I think there’s less chance of this one happening. Unlike Sony, Microsoft has something truly unique for their motion controller and I think they’ll continue to push it. Since that is the case, I hope they can show off more hybrid games that use both Kinect and the traditional controller. There is a lot of potential for hybrid games, but so far things are much more clear-cut: you’re either playing a Kinect game or you’re playing a traditional non-Kinect game.

New Halo Game

This is an easy guess, but it is still something to be excited about. 343 Industries is working on a new project that is mostly likely the first Halo game not developed by Bungie. Bungie is a fantastic developer with a lot of experience making great games. 343 Industries has large shoes to fill, and it will be interesting to see what they do with the Halo series.

A New Game From Rare

There hasn't been a new Killer Instinct game in 15 years. It's time for a come-back.

I’d like to see Rare release another game from one of their older franchises rather than working on more Kinect games. Comments last year suggest that Rare would really like to revive the Killer Instinct series. I’d love that.

I’d also be okay seeing a new Perfect Dark or Banjo & Kazooie game. Both have already received one game in this console cycle, but it would be great to see the Perfect Dark series continued (instead of a prequel) or see a new Banjo & Kazooie that is a bit more traditional than the last.

No matter what, I expect Microsoft will have some surprises for us. Unlike last year – where their biggest announcement (the slim XBOX 360) was leaked over and over again – they seem to have kept everything under-wraps this time around.

One thought on “E3 2011: What I Want From Microsoft

  1. Pingback: E3 2011: What I Want From Nintendo | Video Game Insight

Leave a Reply

